Top 5 most impressive skyscrapers in the Far East

China seems to be building an incredible amount of supertalls, with the Shanghai Tower in particular now a tourist attraction. I am also looking forward to the opening of the Lotte Tower in Seoul sometime in 2016, which is expected to become the second-tallest structure in the world. However, when narrowing the list down to the top 5 most visually impressive skyscrapers in Far East Asia, I am left with the following, as we count up from 5-1:

jinmao1
Jin Mao on the left, with the SWFC on the right

5. Jin Mao Building, Shanghai. Part of a trio of supertalls in the Pudong area of Shanghai, the Jin Mao Building was the first of the city’s skyscrapers to be erected, and stands at an impressive 88 stories. Read all about my experience at Jin Mao Tower!

Photo: Navgot Singh
Photo: Navjot Singh

4. Canton Tower, Guangzhou. This amazing skyscraper dominates the city skyline and at night provides an incredible illumination over the river and beyond. Not only is there an observation deck up the Canton Tower, but also a Sky Drop, which is like a kind of rollercoaster! Really one for the tourists!

bankofchinahk

3. Bank of China Tower, Hong Kong. Without question, the oldest skyscraper (and least tall) on this list, the Bank of China Tower has been wowing visitors to Hong Kong’s Victoria Harbour for decades. In the evening, the tower is illuminated and is part of the Symphony of Lights extravaganza!

Steel with palm trees - awesome!
Steel with palm trees – awesome!

2. PETRONAS Towers, Kuala Lumpur. Tickets are allocated on a first come, first serve basis, so if you want to get up to the observation bridge here at the PETRONAS Towers (the tallest twin towers in the world), then you had better book early. There is a shopping centre – Suria KLCC – beneath the towers, and a lovely landscaped park all around it, making the PETRONAS Towers arguably the most scenic of all skyscrapers in this list.

What an immense sight!
What an immense sight!

1. Taipei 101. What an incredible piece of architecture! Undoubtedly the finest skyscraper current completed in the Far East Asia region. It has 101 floors, with an indoor observation deck and an outdoor observation deck even higher up! Apparently, there is also a secret VIP club right at the pinnacle of the building, but no real information exists as it is so secretive. Read all about my experience at Taipei 101!

7 thoughts on “Top 5 most impressive skyscrapers in the Far East

  1. I remember the first time I saw the Petronas Towers. It was when we were on a bus riding into Kuala Lumpur. It was just shimmering so beautiful in the night sky. I hope I can see Taipei 101 next!

    Like

  2. Amazing selection! I haven’t been to any of them, but I would love to go to the Petronas tower in Kuala Lumpur, It always reminds me of the Formula 1 Grand Prix 🙂 you have to go to the Burj Khalifain Dubai 🙂

    Like

    1. Aha! Burj Khalifa! I have been there too (check out my post)! But it’s not in the Far East Asia, so I didn’t include it in this list! Hope you can get to Malaysia for the PETRONAS Towers and the F1 (maybe 2015 Grand Prix).

      Like

      1. Ahhaaaa awesome! Then I think you have an amazing list of skyscrapers on your list, amazing! True, its not in the far east! 🙂 yes I would love to do that, next year I dont think it will work, but maybe in 2016 I hope 😀

        Like

    1. Oh the SWFC is very impressive, but I didn’t go up that one, I chose to go up Jin Mao Tower instead. I hope some of the future supertalls will come close to matching my favourite though – Taipei 101! I am looking forward to the new one in Seoul!

      Like

Tell me what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.