Top 5 off the beaten path beaches in South East Asia

A few years ago I posted my first list regarding some of the best beaches in South East Asia, although now my opinion has changed quite a bit. These days, however, I enjoy visiting even more beaches that are off the beaten path so I can get my feet wet more regularly than before – although I still won’t swim in the sea!

Koh Lipe has a beautiful coastline

5. Pattaya Beach, Koh Lipe, Thailand

Otres Beach, Sihanoukville

4. Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia

I cannot believe Mira eyes at this beauty!

3. Mira Beach, Perhentian Islands, Peninsular Malaysia

Phu Quoc could one day get as busy as the beaches in southern Thailand!

2. Thom Beach, Phu Quoc, Vietnam

The beach at Bako

1. Bako National Park Beach, Sarawak, Bornean Malaysia

One thing is for sure – South East Asia has the best beaches in the world, regardless of whether they are known to mass tourism or not. Compared to the east coast of Australia, the up and coming southern Chinese beaches, the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico, Hawaii’s volcanic islands, and the blissful Mediterranean, there is something about the coastline (and the scary things that live in the water over here!) that keeps me coming back and wanting to explore more and more…

How many beaches have you visited from this list of up and coming tropical destinations?

7 thoughts on “Top 5 off the beaten path beaches in South East Asia

    1. Yes, I have been to many great beaches in Sumatra, Sulawesi, and Bali (and Pink Beach Flores) but I don’t know of any hidden gems in Indonesia… can you recommend some lesser known beautiful beaches?

      Like

      1. ngurbloat beach in kei kecil. actually, any beach in kei kecil on a weekday does not disappoint. in sumatra i really like tanjung kelayang beach in belitung island. walk a bit further from the more touristy part, & it’s pretty much deserted.

        Like

Tell me what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.