Jesus Christ! What a disappointment!

I loved my time in Brazil. I got to see the Amazon Rainforest, Iguassu Falls, and spent some amazing time in Rio de Janeiro. However, arguably the main attraction in the city is Christ the Redeemer, and I found myself to be very disappointed with the whole experience of what is supposed to be one of the New Seven Wonders of the World.

christ2

Christ the Redeemer is an Art Deco statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro, created by French sculptor Paul Landowski and built by the Brazilian engineer Heitor da Silva Costa. It is 98ft tall, not including its pedestal, and its arms stretch 92ft wide. I am told the statue weighs 635 metric tons and is located at the peak of the 2,300ft Corcovado mountain in the Tijuca Forest National Park overlooking the city of Rio – the journey on the Corcovado Tram is a highlight in itself and arguably more spectacular than the statue itself.

As a symbol of Brazilian Christianity, the statue has become an icon for Rio de Janeiro and Brazil. It is made of reinforced concrete and soapstone, and was constructed between 1922 and 1931. There is no denying the statue is also a symbol of Rio de Janeiro too, but as a tourist I cannot understand why it is so popular to visit.

christ9

christ10b

christ4

You can see the statue of Christ from pretty much anywhere in Rio, even from other major tourist attractions such as Sugarloaf Mountain, most of the beaches, or the Tijuca Forest (TIP: a twilight hike through the forest will give you an amazing view of the statue in the distance among the stars). One thing Christ the Redeemer must be great for, however, is for the early admission sunrise tour. I did not book this experience myself, but I have heard stories from those who have, and it seems like it’s recommended!

There are 200 steps leading from the base of the mountain to the feet of Christ himself, but you have to contend with so many people (including journalists and even wedding ceremonies in the chapel – I bet that’s not cheap to have a wedding “inside” Jesus!) that at times I wished I had just admired things from afar.

(Photo: FCBusiness.co.uk)
(Photo: FCBusiness.co.uk)

The views from the top of Christ the Redeemer are sensational, but you can get better views from Sugarloaf Mountain, in my opinion (not everybody will agree). A lot of downtown Rio below (and the Leblon neighbourhood) seems to be in the shade in the afternoon, due to the positioning of the sun, but there are great views out to sea regardless of the time of your visit.

I took the 583 Bus from Jardim Botanico, which includes Christ the Redeemer on its route, which also includes a passing of Copacabana Beach, so you could theoretically do these 3 wondrous attractions in the same day with ease!

9 thoughts on “Jesus Christ! What a disappointment!

  1. This reminds me a lot of Ponte Vecchio, the Old Bridge in Florence which I think is the most famous symbol of the city. When I got there the first time I was so surprised and tickled at how over-rated it was. To me it is basically just a bridge with some jewellery and souvenier shops. Naturally there is a lot of history behind it but in a place like Florence, there are so many other attractions that are far more interesting, that I just don’t understand the appeal of the Old Bridge. Thankfully just a few steps beyond the bridge is the breathtaking Boboli Gardens, one of my favourite places in the city, my favourite in Italy. I hope to visit that park again soon.

    Like

  2. I want to visit Brazil because of its Fernando de Noronha and Amazon πŸ˜€ but yeah, I guess this statue something would not be missed when in Rio. Do you write a post about Amazon yet? My apology if I miss it..

    Like

Tell me what you think!

