Emirates: The Queen of the Skies

There’s no question that Emirates is the Queen of the Skies. No matter which way you look at it, you’ll surely understand that Emirates now has such a stranglehold on the opposition that it has virtually created its own playing field.

Dubai Airport is always very busy
Dubai Airport is always very busy

One of the main success stories of Emirates is actually its location in Dubai. Being roughly 7 hours flying time from both western Europe and most of Asia, it is strategically located to take passengers away from airlines such as British Airways, Air France, Lufthansa, Singapore Airlines, Thai Airways from traditional non-stop routes. Emirates can do this by stopping over in Dubai and making you change planes for your onwards flight. Not everybody will want to have a stop in Dubai, and clearly some prestige airlines will always have their loyal customers. Yet in this day and age – when price is a major factor for customers when booking tickets – they will no doubt find that invariably Emirates have cheaper fares (albeit usually only by a slight margin). Other Middle-Eastern carriers, such as Emirates’ chief rival Etihad, also bank on this tactic.

How does Emirates compare to their rivals in the Middle-East? I’ve made a comprehensive analysis of the Big ‘ME4’.

Emirates crew readying themselves for another flight!
Emirates crew readying themselves for another flight!
Smiles onboard with Emirates
Smiles onboard with Emirates

Many airlines, in particular British Airways, have complained about the lack of a level playing field, citing the price of oil (to power all those aircraft engines) as a way Emirates keep ahead of the competition. It is a well-known fact that Emirates either get very cheap fuel, or have it completely subsidised by the UAE government – which, I guess, is one of the perks of having oil under the runway. European and Asian carriers clearly will never have this economic luxury.

Luggage being loaded on to the EK 380 at Bangkok
Luggage being loaded on to the EK 380 at Bangkok

However, despite the criticisms, Emirates have done wonders for the aviation industry. Their training facilities for cabin crew and pilots are now industry-leading, and much of their onboard product, such as the resplendent First Class Suites on the Airbus A380, the tail and nose cameras which can be watched live by passengers, and the famous ICE (Information, Communication, Entertainment) System have long since been the envy of Emirates’ rivals. WIFI, international calls from your mobile, and even onboard shopping from your touchscreen entertainment system have also been pioneered by Emirates.

The impressive EK first class cabin
The impressive EK first class cabin

I have been lucky enough to fly with Emirates in their A380 First Class Suites, and the experience was amazing from start to finish! But it’s not only the first class where Emirates has made a name for itself: the business class cabin and economy class cabins are also among the industry’s leading products of their kind.

emiratesfleet

One of the things Emirates is best-known for is its all-widebody fleet of aircraft. Emirates are the leading operator of the Airbus A380. Emirates seem to be the only airline that can currently utilise this largest plane in the sky on a profitable basis. Whereas rivals such as Thai Airways and Malaysia Airlines struggle to efficiently deploy their A380s, Emirates keep adding more and more A380 frequencies on their most popular routes to cater for the increasing demand. Where next for the Emirates A380?

emiratesa330

Emirates has been voted Airline of the Year by SKYTRAX in quite a few of the recent years, and who knows what the future will hold as the airline continues to grow from strength to strength! But don’t take my opinion for it, check out this comprehensive piece from Through Brand New Eyes which outlines 7 reasons why you should fly with Emirates!

9 thoughts on “Emirates: The Queen of the Skies

    1. The A380 is my favourite aircraft, and although I almost always travel in the cheap seats, I know first hand how amazing Emirates can be if you had a little extra cash to blow 😉

      Like

  1. I totally agree with you, I’ve also experienced flying Emirates A380. That time, they are one of the first airlines to use an A380. Very spacious, Stewardess are nice, I love the food. I’m also fascinated with their new features such as you can actually view what’s below you, what’s in front of you (CCTV) You’re so lucky to experience first class. I’m also curious about what is in the 2nd floor, my prof told me it was a bar for first class passenger (correct me if I’m wrong) Great Blog- Worth Reading :).

    Like

    1. Hi there, thanks for visiting! On Emirates, the suites and economy class are on the lower level, and the top floor is all business class. 🙂 And you’re right, Emirates has amazing food in every cabin!

      Like

  2. I always fly with Emirates if I can, and I agree with you: their A380s are great. I’ve flown to/from China, Hong Kong and Bangkok on the A380 and from the first moment I set my foot on board, it became my favourite aircraft.

    Interestingly enough, the Emirates has also been the cheapest option on some routes I’ve looked at, like when I flew from Dubai to Casablanca two summers ago. And this week, I flew with Emirates here to Cairo: budget carrier AirArabia was AED1,340 with a checked-in bag and Emirates was AED1,510. Going with Emirates for AED170 more is a no-brainier.

    And talking about ICE. I found a Swedish movie under World Cinema on my flight here to Cairo this week. That’s a first for any airline flying anywhere, with the possible exception of Scandinavian and Norwegian.

    Great blog post!

    Like

    1. Hi Bjorn! Thanks for your opinions there, and I think I agree with you. The ICE SYSTEM has so many movies of so many languages that sometimes the flight doesn’t last long enough for to watch what you want! And I also agree with the prices – Emirates are very competitive, and their rivals don’t seem to be able to compete.

      Like

  3. Am a big fan of Emirates and A380 🙂 Even if the service has been going down a tiny bit, it is still great. Eventually I should try also Etihad and Qatar out of the regional airlines, I admit.

    Like

  4. Big Emirates fan here too. Being based in Bangkok, Emirates can get me to just about anyplace in the world. The upper-deck of an Emirates A380 is my home away from home. I take them even when it’s a longer routing as it’s such a pleasure compared with most Asian, and certainly all American, airlines.

    Like

    1. I know what you mean John. I wouldn’t want to fly with a US airline when I have the chance for Emirates. Even a route like Seoul to LAX I would probably fly via Dubai if the price was right (although Korean Air’s A380 is also a good choice). I am also a fan of the upper deck, but I haven’t flown EK upper deck as it’s all business class. I have flown SQ and TG A380 upper deck though 😀

      Like

Tell me what you think!

