The Peacocks of the Lodhi Gardens

The Lodhi Gardens in Delhi are situated on Lodhi Road between Khan Market and Sadarjung’s Tomb. It is commonly heralded as Delhi’s best green space and often called “the lungs of the city”. The gardens are a common place for young and old Delhiites alike to have a romantic stroll at the weekends or take an invigorating run after work. The gardens are open from 5am to around 7pm each day. I was told there was an entrance fee, although somehow I managed to get in for free!

lodhi3

Much of the 90 acres of space for the gardens are comprised of tombs and other buildings. The tombs of Mohammed Shah and Sikander Lodi are situated here, as well as the architectural delights of Sheesh Gumbad and Bada Gumbad, which were built by the Sayyid Dynasty in the 1th century. It is not uncommon to see peacocks roaming freely around these buildings.

lodhi5
The three-domed building is actually a mosque
The Lodhi Gardens are a nice place for a stroll
The Lodhi Gardens are a nice place for a stroll

All around the Lodhi Gardens, you will notice a lot of well-kept greenery and waterways. I was very impressed exploring this little invigorating area of such a polluted city and much of the garden is very photogenic. At the time, I did not know much about the people who lay in the tombs, but it was nevertheless a good way to learn a little about history while soaking up the Indian sun. I asked my rickshaw driver if there were likely to be any snakes around here, and he just laughed.

 

lodhi9change

One of the main reasons I wanted to visit Lodhi Gardens was because of its resident peacocks. On a quiet afternoon with nothing else to do, I got a rickshaw ride to the Gardens and enjoyed my walk around the place. Even in such a busy urban jungle that is Delhi, I wanted to get an experience of a green park and hopefully see some wildlife. It is easy to see why Lodhi Gardens are a prime place for a romantic evening, and no better example of the 7-arched bridge built across a lake further in to centre of the gardens, but I did not get a picture of it unfortunately.

The markets of Delhi are great place for street food!
The nearby Khan Market is great place for street food!

For the foodies among you, there is a popular restaurant close to the Lodhi Gardens called ‘The Lodi’ which looks a very fine establishment indeed, although regretfully the prices were a little expensive for me, so I gave it a miss and had some street food from Khan Market on the way home instead – and no, I didn’t eat any peacocks!

5 thoughts on “The Peacocks of the Lodhi Gardens

  1. I love this place. I spent some time sitting under the tree and observing surrounding. There was this group of teens practicing what I thought as performance for their school probably. It was really interesting. However, I didn’t get to see the peacocks. You got some nice pictures of this beautiful garden!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

