Sailing the Star Ferry

One of the iconic things to do while in Hong Kong is to take a trip across Victoria Harbour from Kowloon to Central on the famous Star Ferry.

The Star Ferry Company began sailing in 1888 as the ‘Kowloon Ferry Company’. Nowadays it is one of the prime tourist attractions in Hong Kong, with over 26m people sailing across the Harbour each year.

What a sight!
That’s where I’m sailing to!

On the Kowloon side of the Harbour, you can often spend ages admiring the best skyline in Asia and often wonder why there is ever a need to cross to the other side, when presumably the view back to Kowloon is not quite as impressive. Well, this assumption may be true in a way, but remember over at Central there is the roof of Hong Kong – Victoria Peak! From there, you can look down over all of Hong Kong and her islands, and believe me the view is amazing, especially at sunset. There are road and rail tunnels that pass under the Harbour to get from Kowloon to Central, but the most traditional method of making the journey is certainly by sailing on the Star Ferry!

P1040284

Buying a ticket
Buying a ticket

The cost of an adult one-way fare across the Harbour from Kowloon to Central will set you back around $HK5.20, though there are discounts for children, the elderly, and the disabled. This is without question the cheapest way to get across the Harbour and as such is a very popular method of transportation with the locals.

P1040308

P1040312

P1040314
As you can see, the Ferry was almost empty on this crossing

When I boarded the Star Ferry at Tsim Sha Tsui Pier, I was surprised to see that it was virtually empty. Maybe I just got lucky on this day. Anyway, I enjoyed the short and smooth ride across the Harbour and took in the sights, sounds, and smells. I changed my seats a few times to get better views.

I have arrived at Central!
I have arrived at Central!

When I had arrived at Central Pier, I made my way to Victoria Peak – but not before I did a little shopping…

One thought on “Sailing the Star Ferry

Tell me what you think!

